alexmarwood

The Killer Next Door, by Alex Marwood

Winner of the Macavity for Best Mystery 2015
Shortlisted for Barry and Anthony awards

The Killer Next DoorNo. 23 has a secret. In this gloomy, bedsit-riddled South London wreck, lorded over by a lecherous landlord, a horrifying collection quietly waits to be discovered. Yet all six residents have something to hide.

Collette is on the run from her ex-boss; Cher is a children's home escapee; lonely Thomas tries to make friends with his neighbours, while a gorgeous Iranian asylum seeker and a 'quiet man' nobody sees try to keep themselves hidden. And there for them all is Vesta, a woman who knows everything that goes on in the house - or thought she did.

Then in the dead of night, a terrible accident pushes the six into an uneasy alliance. But one of them is a killer, expertly hiding their pastime, all the while closing in on their next victim...

What other people have said

"If you read Alex Marwood's THE WICKED GIRLS, her new one – THE KILLER NEXT DOOR – is even better. Scary as hell. Great characters." Stephen King

"Although not as dark as Marwood’s first novel, The Wicked Girls, this psychological thriller is more macabre, in a creepy comic vein, and vividly nasty when it gets to the physical details. But in its own disturbing way, this is a story about love and friendship." The New York Times Book Review  

“Chilling, suspenseful, and darkly comic, The Killer Next Door is not only a terrific crime novel, but also a fascinating exploration of memorable characters, each individually lonely and secretive, and yet inextricably tied to one another by circumstance.” Alafair Burke

The Killer Next Door unfolds with tantalizing precision to reveal the lives and secrets of a group of boarders in a run-down apartment house – one whose secret is far darker than the rest” Sara J Henry

“Marwood’s emphatic yet pragmatic understanding of human nature at its worst and best is in equally fine form in The Killer Next DoorSarah Weinman, Maclean’s

“With her sophomore outing, Marwood has turned out not just a spooky, blood-and-guts thriller, but a cannily observant novel that explores social fissures while delivering a modicum of hope” The Boston Globe 

“Alex Marwood’s second stand-alone novel delivers a multilayered plot that succeeds as crime fiction, a gothic tale, and a village mystery – all with an edge. While some scenes are gruesome enough to give Thomas Harris pause, The Killer Next Door is lyrically insightful [and a] gripping thriller.” The Associated Press 

“Marwood keeps readers guessing which resident is the killer till the end, a nice feat in an enjoyably dark story.” The Cleveland Plain Dealer 

“A taut, fascinating tale [that] not only creates a cast of memorable characters, but also ratchets up the suspense…[Marwood] proves she’s got staying power in this addictive tale.” Kirkus (starred review)

“This tightly plotted story that grabs you from the opening paragraphs and will keep you up far too late at night is highly recommended for fans of  Laura Lippman, Tana French, and Gillian Flynn.” Library Journal (starred review)

“A well-plotted ending filled with unexpected surprises.” Publisher’s Weekly

“Marwood is emerging as a master of contemporary British suspense.” Booklist 

“[A] deliciously creepy book!” Suspense Magazine

“Taut, assured and reminiscent of Ruth Rendell's psychological novels, Marwood's second book more than lives up to the promise shown in her splendid debut, THE WICKED GIRLS” The Guardian

“Nasty, compelling and original, the author has done it again with her second novel”
The Sun

You can read a short extract of The Wicked Girls, by Alex Marwood. Just click on the book cover below:

The Wicked Girls

You'll need Adobe Reader or similar PDF reader.
To get it, simply click on this button:
Get Adobe Reader

You can buy copies of The Killer Next Door at your local book store.
If you prefer to buy online, click on the link below:

 

 

alex marwood

Who is Alex Marwood?

Find out who Alex is.

Buy Alex Marwood's books

Available in paperback and ebook. Find out where to buy your copy here.

Stephen King on Alex Marwood

Keep up to date

Alex is on Twitter, Facebook and Pinterest. Click here to follow Alex Marwood.

Share this page

Share this site on your Twitter feed or Facebook page.

Follow Alex Marwood on Twitter, Facebook and Pinterest

TWITTER   FACEBOOK   PINTEREST

Share this site on your Twitter feed or Facebook page

TWITTER   FACEBOOK

Buy Alex's books online